LORE

Languages:

地球结冰了。人们被锁在了这个时代的冰河世纪。世界政府联合发行了一个拯救人类的计划:将所有人都移到元宇宙之中。这个计划被称之为“The Paradiagn Shift - 范式转变”。第一批出发的一万个志愿者,做好了探索前路的准备,而他们,被称之为“Cyberbrokers”。然而一切却都乱了套。两个世纪之后,自满的人类即将应对一场伟大的觉醒。

而这,就是“The Paradigm Lost (TPL) - 失乐园”的故事。

The Story of TPL

Chapter One - 范式工程

Chapter Two - 牛仔登场

Chapter Three - 情人节

Chapter Four - 帮我一把

Chapter Five - 第二次约会

Chapter Six: 搭便车

Chapter Seven: 阿尔法安全故障

Chapter Eight: 瘀伤

Chapter Nine: 三人行

Chapter Ten: 飞跃信仰

Chapter Eleven: 回忆


Listen to the Podcast

Anchor.fm by Spotify

CHAPTER ONE - 范式工程

“我讨厌我的工作。”

Spice叹了口气,她的视线从地面上抬起,望向了那堆挡住她去路的灰冰和冻雨夹雪。 这周轮到她清理栖居地外太阳能驱动器上的积雪。 而且,像往常一样,似乎最严重的暴雪每次都蹲点等着她轮班的时候才来。

“为什么Sybil轮班的时候就从来没有下过雪?” Spice 放弃了挣扎,她太想快点干完活然后回到她的装备里,于是她抓起一把扫帚,把它像一把长矛一样的握在她戴着手套的手中,开始用塑料末端猛戳挡住门口的积雪。 虽然他们把入口藏在了一个低矮的悬垂下,但这似乎对抑制雪块堆积毫无作用。 尤其是在一场暴雪之后。

每一次戳下去,积雪都碎一大块,不久之后就凿出了一个大到可以爬过去的洞。 明媚的阳光从洞口倾泻而下,伴随着刺骨的寒风。 Spice把扫帚扔到外面,然后爬出了黑暗的隧道,来到了清晨清新的空气中。

我去,这可太冷了。

一股寒风呼啸着穿过冰丘,把沿途所有东西都卷进了碎冰云之中。 “迎接”她的是四周大量的白色反光斜坡。 不过,万幸,没有再下雪了。

Spice 拉紧了她的派克大衣,并固定好她的护目镜以抵御呼啸而来的风。 她把手里一根长长的杆子戳进雪堆。 她的族群在隧道的安全区域之外徒步时,会用它们来标记栖居地的入口。 自从Ricardo离开去清理面板并且失踪后,所有清扫工都被要求必须随身携带标记杆。 风暴很可能会快速移动,从(曾经是)新墨西哥州东北部的那片山区冲下来。

Spice靠着扫帚保持平衡,嘎吱嘎吱地爬上山,来到了太阳能驱动器与天际线相遇的地方。

理论上,就是这里。

在这锯齿状的白色悬崖上什么也看不见。 然而,即使地貌不断变化,Spice也知道自己来对了地方。 她已经日常徒步这条线路二十年了。

当 Spice 登上山脊时,那些巨大的机器映入了眼帘。 太阳能驱动器停留在被厚雪覆盖的冬天隐形网深处。 构成这张网的白色和灰色迷彩条部分遮挡了太阳,使太阳能驱动器的发电量下降到约 70%。 然而,70% 效率其实比 100% 效率要好得多,因为100%效率会带来被遥远部落的敌对扫描无人机从天空中发现他们的风险。

毕竟被燃烧弹炸成碎片的太阳能驱动器,那生产率可只能是0%了。

Spice快速瞥了一眼天空,然后爬到了其中一个隐形网下面。 现在,她也不会被热浪或者光学扫描仪发现了。 这样就可以安全的开始工作了。

对该区域的目视检查一如她的预期。 自昨晚暴风雪以来,没有人来过这。心满意足的 ,她扫掉了太阳能电池板和驱动器巨大的坦克状踏板上的积雪,清理了链轮组件并且给它们上了油,然后检查了连接通往栖居地排气口的粗电缆的端口。

完成这台 T-6849 太阳能驱动器的检查后,她“只需要”检查剩下的13个就可以收工返回了。 Spice 需要快速行动,这样才能在太阳能收集高峰时间之前清理掉其余部分。 更不用说她需要完成工作,才能被允许回到隧道的温暖怀抱,然后系回她的TPL装备。

她再次检查了她的派克大衣领口,然后从网下溜了出来。

差不多四个小时后,Spice的身体已经筋疲力尽并且半冻僵了,她艰难地走着,从斜坡上回到她的标记处。但愿今晚不会再下雪,这样的话明天只需要45分钟的巡查即可。

Spice从冰洞里滑了回来,砰的一声关上了外门,在这个过程中她伸出了舌头,嘲夷着把寒冷和痛苦甩了出去。 她终于完成了一天的体力劳动,是时候来点乐子了。

当她脱下厚重的派克大衣和护目镜时,汗水从她的额头滴落。 Spice将这些寒冷天气的装备挂在更衣室的挂钉上。 当她跺着脚走过时,地板的格栅咯呲作响,摇晃着没有凝结的水珠。 雪从她的靴子上滑落,流了出来,在下方某个地方汇集,化成了为栖居地生命维持系统提供动力的电解发动机的更多原料。

Spice挣扎着打开了厚重的门,这扇门通向一条用石头和钢铁制成的潮湿走廊。 她走过的时候,脚步声在石板色的墙壁上回荡,声音中夹杂着蒸汽不时凝结的扑通声。她已经脱光了衣服,只剩下背心和短裤,却仍然能感到闷热和粘稠。

在狭窄、密闭的空间内运行所有集体电子设备会产生大量热量。这些热量足以融化雪。并且偶尔还能通过那些上部排气口排出多余的蒸汽。每隔一小时左右,一股清新的冰冷空气就会刷过栖居地,提神醒脑,同时也能给内部系统降降温。

Spice绕过一个尖角,拉开了她的蔽容柩的门。在这个混乱的世界里,这是属于她的一小块宁静。她的房间不超过四平米,装修简陋。但是,它朴素的外表并不重要。当你大部分时间都在 TPL中度过时,你的物理房间是什么样子并不重要。

关上门并锁好之后,她把手伸到那张窄小的床底下,拉出了她的链接带。她床底下的几乎所有空间都是链接TPL装备的硬件。她咧嘴笑着,套上了她那沾满汗水的科技背心,然后系上头部装备。每一次,即使已经过去了这么多年,她仍觉得自己就像是一个那些老电影中的英雄。像那些整装待发准备好历经千险去拯救世界的英雄。

Spice躺在她的小床上,闭上眼睛,按下了电源按钮。她装备上的链接灯从红色闪烁到了绿色。她那灰色的光滑的房间从她的感官中消失了。链接完成。

当Spice再次睁开眼睛时,她微微吃惊。不知何故,黑暗仍然包围着她。

紧张了一小会儿后,她想起了她上次下线的地方,这才松了一口气。Spice 按下了几个继电器,电网启动,在她的控制屏上投射出诡异的绿色光芒。另一个开关打开了,一扇巨大的门升了上来,盘绕在三十米高的天花板上。她握住控制台上的两个手柄,启动了数百个伺服系统。

她的巨型机甲,高达25 米,带着速度与雷霆之势,走出一个巨大的车库,进入“拉斯维加斯大道“闪耀的灯光之中。

在她面前展开的,是那在灯光、噪音和繁华中她真正的家:元宇宙。粉色和紫色的霓虹灯在电子广告牌和半透明的全息图之间穿梭。悬浮车与毛茸茸的白色幽灵并驾齐驱。每个街角都有一个秘密任务、谜题或捆绑式刺激包。在她的左边,两只怪兽正在漫威公园的中央打架。在她的右边,整个福斯特大楼点燃了火箭助推器并发射进入了太空。

在现实世界中,她可能是个无名小卒,蜷缩在黑暗、黏湿的隧道里,但在这儿,在这疯狂之中,她是 Alpha 10号指挥部的机甲飞行员Spice。并且,她是个狠角儿。

通常情况下,她不会从她的驾驶席上退出 TPL,但怎么说呢,上次退出登录的时候她有点急事。 现在她重新登录了,她需要和 Unironic Ken聊聊,看看她错过了什么。

她的通讯设备忽然一闪。 Ken的声音通过扬声器传来。

“嘿,Spice!你去哪儿了?”

“对不起,我上次不得不切断链接。栖居地的电池当时处于负积累状态。”

“哦。听起来太糟了。”

Spice耸了耸肩,朝屏幕外看出去,发现他正在下面的街道上。 “只是需要一点雪地巡逻。”

Unironic Ken不必担心物理世界中的问题。 他是一名网络经纪人。 这个可怜的灵魂,是那一万个永远与人类躯体分离并卡在了原宇宙中游荡的一员。

几个世纪前,在北极冰川坍塌并引发了第一个现代冰河时代之后,世界各国政府共同制定了一项拯救人类的计划:将每个人都转移到元宇宙之中。 它被称为“范式转变”。 最初一万名登录实验范式装备的志愿者,意图永久殖民网络空间,却遭遇了灾难。

正如我们所发现的那样,人类心理可以承受的神经失调是有限度的。

和其他CyberBrokers一样,Unironic Ken 的肉躯在政府机构的某个地方,被低温冷冻着,以等待技术进步到足以让他们重新传回肉体。

那是两百年前的事了。

然而,人类却一直在运用其庞大的综合智慧来制作和销售更高效的JPEG。 这有点令人沮丧,真的。

“我错过了什么?” Spice不喜欢和 Ken 过多地扯谈现实世界的事。

“哦,我的麻辣小丸子,你什么都错过了。”

“真的?” 如果他是其他人,她会用钢筋机甲靴子把他踩得粉碎。 已经很久没有人叫过她肉丸了。

“是啊!猴子家族和猫家族又开战了,有几个DAO等着你投票,另外你还有四个空投要领取。”

“哇。今晚有的忙了。”

与 CyberBroker 成为朋友的好处之一就是他们对一切都很感兴趣。 他们哪儿都去。 他们谁都认识。 和好几代人类打交道就会产生这种效果。

“经纪人永远不停歇。” 他冲着巨大的机器人眨了眨眼。 “你要不要让我进去?”

Spice 拨动了地面舱口释放装置,Unironic Ken 爬了上去。 他们得找一些乐子。 尤其是在这样一个世界里。 在那个被称之为TPL——The Paradigm Lost(失乐园)的失败实验中。

CYBERBROKERS

00%

LORE

The earth is frozen. Locked in a modern ice age. The world governments had come together with a plan to save humanity by moving everyone into the metaverse. It had been called "The Paradigm Shift". The first ten thousand volunteers, ready to light the way, were called CyberBrokers. Everything went wrong. Two centuries later, a complacent human race copes with a great awakening.

This is the story of The Paradigm Lost.

The Story of TPL

Chapter One - Project Paradigm

Chapter Two - Cowboy Up

Chapter Three - Valentine's Day

Chapter Four - Gimme a Hand

Chapter Five - A Second Date

Chapter Six - Catching a Ride

Chapter Seven - Failsafe Alpha

Chapter Eight - Bruises

Chapter Nine - Three of a Kind


Listen to the Podcast

Anchor.fm by Spotify

CHAPTER ONE - PROJECT PARADIGM

"I hate my job."

Spice sighed and lifted her eyes from the ground to the pile of gray ice and frozen sleet blocking her way. It was her week to clear the snow off the solar drives outside the compound. And, as usual, it seemed like the worst storm had waited until it was her turn.

"Why didn't the snows ever come around during Sybil's week?" Resigned and eager to get back to her rig, Spice snatched up a broom, gripping it like a spear in her mitten-wrapped hands, and jabbed the plastic end at the packed snow blocking the doorway. Even having their entrance sheltered beneath a low overhang never seemed to help much with the drifts. Especially after a bad storm.

Chunks chipped away with each stab, and soon a hole large enough to crawl through manifested. Bright sunshine poured in from the opening accompanied by the whistle of bitter cold. After tossing the broom outside, Spice pulled herself out through the dark tunnel, and into the crisp morning air.

Damn, it was cold.

A frigid wind screamed across the ice dunes, swirling whatever it found into clouds of frozen debris. Heavy drifts of white, reflective slopes greeted her from every direction. But, thankfully, it wasn't snowing.

Spice pulled her parka tight and secured her goggles against the howling wind. She jabbed the long pole she carried down into the snowpack. Her people used them to mark the compound entrance while trekking out beyond the safety of its tunnels. Ever since Ricardo left to clean the panels and hadn't returned, it became mandatory for all sweepers to pack out the marking poles with them. Storms could move fast, hurtling down from the mountains of what was once northeast New Mexico.

Using the broom for balance, Spice crunched her way up the hill to where the solar drives met the skyline.

In theory.

Nothing shown visible against the jagged white cliffs. However, even as the landscape constantly changed, she knew she was in the right place. She'd regularly made this hike for almost twenty years now.

The large machines came into view as Spice crested the ridge. The solar drives rested deep in the snow beneath the tangle of the winter cloaking net. White and gray camouflage strips making up the netting partially blocked the sun, dropping the solar power production to about 70%. However, 70% efficiency was a lot better than 100% efficiency but coupled with the chance of a hostile scanning drone from a distant tribe potentially spotting them from the sky.

Firebombed solar drives blown into scattered fragments tended to have a 0% production rate.

A quick glance to the sky and Spice crawled beneath one of the cloaking nets. Now, she too was shielded from both heat and optical scanners. It was safe to start work.

Visual inspection of the area revealed what she'd expected. No one had been out here since the snowstorm last night. Satisfied, she broomed off the solar array and the massive tank-like treads of the drive, cleaned and oiled the sprocket assemblies, and checked the terminals connecting the thick power cables running toward the exhaust ports of the compound.

With this T-6849 Solar Drive checking out complete, she had "only" 13 more to go before she could head back. Spice needed to move fast and get the rest cleaned off before peak solar collection hours. Not to mention she needed to finish before she was allowed to scuttle home to the warmth of the tunnels and strap into her TPL rig.

She checked her parka ties again and slipped out from under the netting.

Almost four hours later, she trudged, physically exhausted and half-frozen, back down the slope toward her marker. Hopefully, it wouldn't snow again tonight, and tomorrow would only need to be a 45-minute excursion.

Spice slid back through the ice hole and slammed the outer door shut, sticking her tongue out in the process, taunting the cold and misery beyond. She was done with physical work for the day, and it was time to power up some fun.

Sweat dripped from her forehead as she stripped off the heavy parka and goggles. Spice hung the cold weather gear on a peg in the dressing room. Floor grates clanged, shaking condensation free, as she stomped across. The snow slid from her boots and drained out, collecting somewhere below as more raw material for the electrolysis engines powering the compound's life support systems.

Spice wrestled open the heavy door securing the damp corridors of stone and steel. Her footsteps echoed off the slate-colored walls as she walked, the sound punctuated by the occasional plop of condensed vapor. She had stripped down to her usual wicking tank-top and shorts, but it was still warm and sticky.

Come to find out, running all of the collective electronic equipment inside narrow, confined spaces produced a lot of heat. Heat that did a pretty solid job of melting snow. They vented the excess steam occasionally through those upper exhaust ports. Every hour or so, a crisp blast of icy air washed through the compound, refreshing the staleness and working to cool their internal systems at the same time.

Spice rounded a sharp corner and tugged open the door to her coffin. In this world of chaos, this was her small chunk of calm. No bigger than four square meters, her room was sparsely decorated. But, its austere appearance didn't matter. When you spent most of your time in TPL, it didn't really matter what your physical room looked like.

After closing and barring her door, she reached under her cot and pulled out her harness. The hardware wired to her TPL rig nearly filled the entire space beneath her bed. Grinning, she slid into her sweat-stained tech vest and strapped on the headgear. Every time, even all these years later, she felt like the hero from one of those old movies. The ones where the good guy gears up right before wading through unspeakable odds to save the day.

Spice laid down on her cot, closed her eyes, and punched the power button. The linklight on her rig flashed from red to green. Her gray, steam-slick room vanished from her senses. Connection was made.

When Spice opened her eyes again, she flinched. Darkness somehow still surrounded her.

A tense moment passed, and she remembered where she had last logged off. Relieved, Spice keyed a couple relays, and the power grids fired up, casting an eerie green glow across her command screens. Another switch flipped, and a massive door crawled up, coiling into the 30 meter high ceiling. She grabbed two sticks on the console, and set hundreds of servos into motion.

Her giant mech, 25 meters of speed and wrath, stepped out of a massive garage and into the bright lights of The Strip.

Splayed out before her, glittering with light, noise, and activity was her real home. The metaverse. Pink and purple neon lanced across electronic billboards and translucent holograms. Hovercars raced alongside glitch-white ghosts. Every street corner shilled a secret quest, puzzle, or bundled stimpack. To her left, two kaiju battled in the middle of Marvel Park. To her right, the entire Foster Building fired its rocket boosters and launched into space.

She may have been a nobody back in the physical world, huddled in dark, sweaty tunnels, but here among the madness, she was Mech Pilot Spice, Alpha Command 10. And, she was a badass.

Normally, she didn't log out of TPL from her pilot seat, but last session, well, she'd been in a hurry. Now that she was logged in again, she needed to catch up with Unironic Ken. Find out what she'd missed.

Her comms flashed. Ken's voice came through over the speaker.

"Hey, Spice! Where'd you go?"

"Sorry. I had to cut out. The power cells at the compound were in negative accumulation."

"Oh. That sounds bad."

Spice shrugged, looking out the screens and spotting him on the street below. "Just needed a little snow patrol."

Unironic Ken didn't have to worry about issues in the physical world. He was a CyberBroker. One of ten thousand poor souls permanently severed from their human bodies and stuck, wandering the metaverse forever.

A couple centuries ago, after the arctic shelves collapsed and triggered the first modern ice age, the world governments came together with a plan to save humanity by moving everyone into the metaverse. It had been called "The Paradigm Shift". The first ten thousand volunteers who logged into the experimental Paradigm rigs, intent on permanently colonizing cyberspace, instead met with disaster.

As we discovered, there are limits to how much neurological dissonance the human psyche could handle.

Like his fellow CyberBrokers, Unironic Ken's body was somewhere in a government facility, cryogenically frozen while they waited for technology to advance enough to restore them to their bodies.

That was two hundred years ago.

Instead, humanity had been applying its vast, combined intellect toward making and selling more efficient JPEGs. It was kind of depressing, really.

"What have I missed?" Spice didn't like to dwell on the physical world too much with Ken.

"Oh, my spicy little meatball, you missed everything."

"Really?" Had he been anyone else, she'd have stomped him to bytes with a steel-reinforced mech boot. No one called her Meatball anymore.

"Yes! The Apes and Cats are at war again, you have a couple DAO votes to cast, and four airdrops to claim."

"Wow. Busy night."

One of the best parts of being friends with a CyberBroker was that they were into everything. They went everywhere. They knew everyone. Decking for a few generations of humans will have that affect.

"A broker never stops." He winked up at the giant robot. "You gonna let me in?"

Spice toggled the ground hatch release, and Unironic Ken climbed aboard. They had some fun to find. Especially in this world. That failed experiment we all call TPL -- The Paradigm Lost.

CYBERBROKERS

00%